Yoga For EVERY Athlete

Well, I am a little bit put off by the fact that Rich Roll just wrote about the exact topic that I was going to write about this week on my blog. However, since he was an Olympic athlete and he further validates my philosophy, I am very pleased to share his article with you.

http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-4806/Why-Every-Athlete-Should-Do-Yoga.html

My Yoga- Athlete Paradigm

I have phased in and out of yoga since I was 16 years old. Sometimes I am super into it and sometimes I can’t convince myself to make time for it. Every time I return to my yoga practice, I gain more insight as to how yoga has the power to make me a better person. I can always apply what I learn in class to my everyday life.

Some athletes would rather spend more time training than spending time on yoga. In reality, taking the time to incorporate yoga into your workout regimen actually improves your capabilities when you are training. Yoga not only increases the flexibility of your muscles, it also increases the flexibility of your mental capacity. The more control you have over your mental state, the more you are capable of achieving.

It takes some time to find the kind of yoga that suites you. Since there are so many different types of yoga and so many different teaching styles, you have to be open to a little bit of experimentation. Some classes are more spiritually challenging while others are more physically challenging. I really like to have a balance of these two elements. I like to walk out of yoga feeling like I got a  workout both mentally and physically. Other athletes really need the restorative yoga to counteract the intensity in their workouts.

No matter what type of yoga you choose, you can be sure that your athletic performance will benefit.

 

Leave a Reply

