So Many Protein Bars To Choose From!

Okay, fine, I’ll help you out a little bit. It is a huge challenge to choose a good protein bar because there are way too many choices. The truth is that most protein bars have tons of processed ingredients that aren’t good for our health. The biggest problem that I have with protein bars is quality and quantity of sugar used to sweeten them. There are also usually way too many ingredients smooshed together in 1 bar.

While my preference is to eat real “whole foods,” I do understand that there are times where we have to make some exceptions. Protein bars and protein powder are to be used as a supplemental snack/meal in addition to an already existing whole foods diet.  They are not meant to be a replacement for a whole foods diet.

I just found my new favorite pre-workout bar and I am more than happy to share the secret. RISE protein bars! There are several flavors, however don’t be fooled– only 2 of the flavors are protein bars, the rest are “energy bars,” which contain much higher sugar levels and barely any protein. The two flavors that are on the ‘Nourished-Balance’ approved-list are:

  • Crunchy Carob Chip
  • Honey Almond

Rise

These tasty little bars have 17grams of protein. Both of these bars are gluten free as well. There are 13 grams of sugar in each of the bars, which is considered pretty high for a snack. In nutrition there is always a better & best option. These bars would be considered a “better” option because they use higher quality sugars than most of the other bars on the market.

The ingredient list for Crunchy Carob Chip includes: almonds, organic agave, whey protein isolate, carob powder and crisp rice.

The ingredient list for the Honey Almond Bar is: honey, almonds, whey protein isolate

The bars are available on Amazon or at Whole Foods (and if you buy the whole box you get 10% off). My local health food store, Jimbo’s…. Naturally, also carries these yummy snacks.

If you still don’t like either of these options, you can try my homemade protein bar recipe. (coming soon!)

3 thoughts on “So Many Protein Bars To Choose From!

  1. How Funny! I got those exact bars the other day because I liked the limited ingredients that they were made with! Unfortunately they tasted AWEFUL! Ahhh. But hearing what you say about how good they are for you, maybe I will try them again. Hurt my teeth they were so hard to bite into. Meh.

    I like your blog. It was nice meeting you at BMI. I look forward to reading your other posts.

    -Christy

    • Which flavors did you try?? I have had a few clients taste test them and they did not have the same reaction! As far as protein bars go, I think they are pretty comparable to any of the other bars. Difference is the type of sugar they are using. Glad that you are going to give them another try. Nice to meet you too. Thanks for following!

  2. Pingback: Pre-Workout Nutrition | Nourished Balance

Leave a Reply

